## Foreword

## The 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics

Our journal, *Theoretical and Applied Mechanics* (TAM), celebrates its 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary this year and the entire volume is dedicated to our anniversary. The journal was founded in 1975 by professor Veljko Vujičić, who served as the founding editor-in-chief for twenty years, till 1995. After that, professors Teodor Atanacković and Djordje Djukić served as co-editors-in-chief from 1996 till 2001. They were succeeded by professor Milan Mićunović, who was the editor-in-chief for the next 13 years, from 2002 till 2014. The signatory of this letter, Vladimir Dragović, has been honoured to serve as the editor-in-chief since 2015.

The initial publishers of the journal were the Yugoslav Society of Mechanics and Mathematical Institute of the Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts. The current publishers are the Serbian Society of Mechanics and Mathematical Institute of the Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts. Through its entire history, TAM has been published by academic publishers only and run on a non-profit basis. The journal is proud of its politics of serving the academic community and being free both for authors and readers.

TAM has been fortunate to have an array of significant members of the Editorial Board, as well as authors, reviewers, and high-quality papers over the course of a half of the century. We thank all who contributed to TAM's success.

We would like to thank the authors who kindly contributed to this jubilee volume: Maxim Arnold and Samarth Das; G. V. Belozerov and Anatoly Fomenko; Ranislav Bulatović and Firdaus Udwardia; Thomas Chen and Patricia Muñoz Ewald; Francesco Fassò, Sara Galasso, and Antonio Ponno; Sean Gasiorek; Velimir Jurdjević; Alexander A. Kilin, Tatiana B. Ivanova, Yury L. Karavaev, and Kirill S. Yefremov; Jair Koiller; Valery V. Kozlov; Vlado A. Lubarda and Marko V. Lubarda; Vladimir Matveev; Sinisa Mesarović; Ivan Polekhin; Joshua Skinner and Anatoly Neishtadt; Serge Tabachnikov; and Andrey Tsiganov. Their papers will be published in this and the forthcoming issue, both constituting the anniversary 2025 volume.

After ten years being the editor-in-chief, I would like to use the opportunity to thank Božidar Jovanović, for his service as the deputy editor-in-chief; Borislav Gajić, the secretary; Dragan Aćimović, the technical editor; all the members of the Editorial Board and all the authors and reviewers. I would also like to thank the presidents of the *Serbian Society of Mechanics* in the last decade – Dragan Spasić, Mihailo Lazarević, Nenad Filipović, and Srboljub Simić, as well as the director of *Mathematical Institute of the Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts*, Zoran Ognjanović, for all the support TAM received from the publishers.

i

Vladimir Dragović editor-in-chief